Have your say

To help us provide the best student experience, we encourage you to give us feedback on the services and online content you use while you’re studying at Unimelb. Most specifically, we are seeking feedback on the students.unimelb website. If you have an idea for new content you’d like to see, or a change to make your online experience better, please post an idea, vote on an existing suggestion or leave a comment.

New service space at 757 Swanston Street
If you have any feedback on the new service space, its name or design, please choose the “Services” category when posting your feedback.

Tell us your idea or provide general feedback

(thinking…)

Enter your idea and we'll search to see if someone has already suggested it.

If a similar idea already exists, you can support and comment on it.

If it doesn't exist, you can post your idea so others can support it.

Enter your idea and we'll search to see if someone has already suggested it.

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback
  1. English language requirement with IGCSE

    Hi,

    I completed both IGCSE Literature (English) and IGSE First Language English in Vietnam. However, on the Melbourne University website, it stated that "Applicants who have completed their GCSE […] in the United Kingdom can satisfy the University's English language requirements by achieving […] a grade of B in GCSE English."(https://futurestudents.unimelb.edu.au/admissions/entry-requirements/language-requirements)

    I'd like an explanation as to why completing the same system and sitting the same exam paper in a different country is any less valid to completing GCSE English in the UK. After having spoken on the phone with a Melbourne University representative, Mitchell, even he could…

    10 votes
    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)

      We’ll send you updates on this idea

    • New admission

      Please, tell me that how i can select my faculty and how i can take admission

      1 vote
      Sign in
      Check!
      (thinking…)
      Reset
      or sign in with
      • facebook
      • google
        Password icon
        I agree to the terms of service
        Signed in as (Sign out)

        We’ll send you updates on this idea

        0 comments  ·  my.unimelb  ·  Admin →

        Dear student,
        Thank you for contacting the University of Melbourne.

        So that we can best respond to your enquiry, please submit an online enquiry: https://ask.unimelb.edu.au/app/ask

        Your enquiry will then be sent to our Future Students Team who will be able to address your query in greater detail.

        For a list of courses available at The University of Melbourne, please visit the Course Search website: https://coursesearch.unimelb.edu.au/

        Comprehensive information regarding admissions, courses, selection, application procedures, and fees is also available on the Future Students website: https://futurestudents.unimelb.edu.au/

        Kind regards,
        Student Information Team

      • The registration system is confusing

        I am trying to register for Map Your Future Graduate Workshops. But the system made me confused and taking a lot of time but still not sure how to register.

        1 vote
        Sign in
        Check!
        (thinking…)
        Reset
        or sign in with
        • facebook
        • google
          Password icon
          I agree to the terms of service
          Signed in as (Sign out)

          We’ll send you updates on this idea

          Hi Melinda,

          Just following up from our latest update.

          So we can best assist, which event(s) were you hoping to register for and at what date/time?

          Once we have this information, we can provide further assistance with registration for the specific event/s.

          Kind regards,
          students.unimelb team

        • Paying by Crdit Card - is broken

          I have paid via this method a few times in the past. This time has been rubbish. I tried now x5 times with a new Credit Card (have had now for 2 months and no problems elsewhere. Looks like Combank is the problem here. Then I have just tried to pay via a Credit Card I have used in the past. Again rejected. Think someone should look into this. I will now have to find another way. Called UniMelb last week, told it was my new Credit Cards problem, called Credit Car company, they could not see anything from their…

          1 vote
          Sign in
          Check!
          (thinking…)
          Reset
          or sign in with
          • facebook
          • google
            Password icon
            I agree to the terms of service
            Signed in as (Sign out)

            We’ll send you updates on this idea

            Hi Mark,

            Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we’re sorry to hear that you encountered such difficulties when attempting to pay by card. We have shared your feedback with the relevant area for further investigation.

            We understand that this has been a frustrating experience and that you do not wish to be contacted further. If you do decide you would like us to investigate your case specifically, please submit an online enquiry and include screenshots to help us identify the issue: https://ask.unimelb.edu.au/app/contactus/webform

            Kind regards,
            The student.unimelb team

          • Mohammed

            I need to enter in investing

            1 vote
            Sign in
            Check!
            (thinking…)
            Reset
            or sign in with
            • facebook
            • google
              Password icon
              I agree to the terms of service
              Signed in as (Sign out)

              We’ll send you updates on this idea

            • Complaint procedure

              Hi,
              Today i had an extremely poor experience at stop 1 after a 4 hour wait due to a staff member and would like to know who i can email/talk to in order to make a formal complaint?
              Thanks

              1 vote
              Sign in
              Check!
              (thinking…)
              Reset
              or sign in with
              • facebook
              • google
                Password icon
                I agree to the terms of service
                Signed in as (Sign out)

                We’ll send you updates on this idea

                Hi there,
                We’re sorry to hear that you had a poor experience when you visited Stop 1. We value your feedback and it is important for us to learn how we can improve our services to better meet your needs in the future.

                We have directed your comments to the manager for consideration.

                You can read more about our complaints and grievances process here: http://students.unimelb.edu.au/admin/complaints-and-grievances

                Kind regards,
                The student hub team

              • Never had pleasant chats with agents here

                I've used the chat service several times because of the convenience that it offers. However, I've never had pleasant chats with the agents. They don't possess the very basic of customer service such as warm greetings or using positive languages. I'm very disappointed at their condescending manner. If they don't enjoy helping others, they should really find other job.

                1 vote
                Sign in
                Check!
                (thinking…)
                Reset
                or sign in with
                • facebook
                • google
                  Password icon
                  I agree to the terms of service
                  Signed in as (Sign out)

                  We’ll send you updates on this idea

                  0 comments  ·  Services  ·  Admin →

                  Hi Jeong,
                  Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the chat agents. We greatly value your feedback and do take it seriously so we can improve our services and training. We will pass on this feedback to the chat team. We hope that the next time you use the chat service, your experience is a positive one.

                  Regards,
                  my.unimelb team

                • Make the ask.unimelb enquiry site function

                  I've been urgently trying to submit an enquiry on ask.unimelb about graduation but the site consistently gives an error message. I was told this is the only way to submit my written enquiry to unimelb so it should be functional! I've spent an hour talking to stop 1 only to be told to write my enquiry online, and now finding the site doesn't work. This is incredibly frustrating, as are all administrative processes at unimelb.

                  1 vote
                  Sign in
                  Check!
                  (thinking…)
                  Reset
                  or sign in with
                  • facebook
                  • google
                    Password icon
                    I agree to the terms of service
                    Signed in as (Sign out)

                    We’ll send you updates on this idea

                    Hi Jessie,
                    Thanks for letting us know about your issue. We are sorry to hear that you are having troubles with the ask.unimelb website. We have not had any other reports of the site not working so we would encourage you to try asking a question from a different browser and on a deskop computer. Please let us know if you still are having issues.

                    Thanks,
                    my.unimelb team

                  • events have finished

                    "from sentence to paragraph" and "know your tenses" events are now outdated -- should we remove them from the what's on page?

                    1 vote
                    Sign in
                    Check!
                    (thinking…)
                    Reset
                    or sign in with
                    • facebook
                    • google
                      Password icon
                      I agree to the terms of service
                      Signed in as (Sign out)

                      We’ll send you updates on this idea

                    • Typo on the Stop1 landing page

                      There's a typo on the Stop1 landing page (http://students.unimelb.edu.au/stop1). The big teal-coloured button for askunimelb says "askunmelb" (missing the "i")

                      1 vote
                      Sign in
                      Check!
                      (thinking…)
                      Reset
                      or sign in with
                      • facebook
                      • google
                        Password icon
                        I agree to the terms of service
                        Signed in as (Sign out)

                        We’ll send you updates on this idea

                      • Update of special consideration page

                        On the Special Consideration page it would be helpful to make clear what's not possible as an outcome, as we'll as what is., i.e. the following in the policy ..

                        4.129. Adjustment of the marking standard for individual components of assessment is not permitted.

                        This could reduce the emails from students to subject coordinators asking for mark adjustments.

                        1 vote
                        Sign in
                        Check!
                        (thinking…)
                        Reset
                        or sign in with
                        • facebook
                        • google
                          Password icon
                          I agree to the terms of service
                          Signed in as (Sign out)

                          We’ll send you updates on this idea

                        • Cant submit Request / Create Account

                          Cant submit request, am former student, trying to reset careers password for 233574

                          1 vote
                          Sign in
                          Check!
                          (thinking…)
                          Reset
                          or sign in with
                          • facebook
                          • google
                            Password icon
                            I agree to the terms of service
                            Signed in as (Sign out)

                            We’ll send you updates on this idea

                          • 1 vote
                            Sign in
                            Check!
                            (thinking…)
                            Reset
                            or sign in with
                            • facebook
                            • google
                              Password icon
                              I agree to the terms of service
                              Signed in as (Sign out)

                              We’ll send you updates on this idea

                              0 comments  ·  LMS  ·  Admin →
                            • 1 vote
                              Sign in
                              Check!
                              (thinking…)
                              Reset
                              or sign in with
                              • facebook
                              • google
                                Password icon
                                I agree to the terms of service
                                Signed in as (Sign out)

                                We’ll send you updates on this idea

                              • online inquiries

                                I was given wrong information by a Stop 1 adviser through an online inquiry on how to decline a special consideration exam. I found out the correct information by calling in; this was disappointing. I suspect that inquiries are not read thoroughly a lot of the time and little care is taken in the provided response, sometimes responses are so generic and unhelpful. Going into the office is much better.

                                1 vote
                                Sign in
                                Check!
                                (thinking…)
                                Reset
                                or sign in with
                                • facebook
                                • google
                                  Password icon
                                  I agree to the terms of service
                                  Signed in as (Sign out)

                                  We’ll send you updates on this idea

                                  0 comments  ·  Services  ·  Admin →

                                  Hi,

                                  Thank you for taking the time leave us with your feedback. It’s not great when you receive conflicting information, and we are sorry this happened during a pretty stressful time.

                                  We have passed on your feedback for review by our Stop 1 leadershipe team, and hope to improve services for you in the future.

                                  Please feel free to contact our Facebook team if you have any problems in the future.

                                  Thank you again,

                                  The Stop 1 team.

                                • Scholarship

                                  I live in U.S I want get scholarship to coming Australia for study please help me out about info. Thanks

                                  1 vote
                                  Sign in
                                  Check!
                                  (thinking…)
                                  Reset
                                  or sign in with
                                  • facebook
                                  • google
                                    Password icon
                                    I agree to the terms of service
                                    Signed in as (Sign out)

                                    We’ll send you updates on this idea

                                    0 comments  ·  Services  ·  Admin →
                                  • Opening hours

                                    Called the other day and was told stop 1 was open until 6pm. The guy didn't state that opening hours varied on week days so I arranged to leave work over an hour early specifically so I could make it in to speak to someone and much to my disappointment it closed at 5pm

                                    1 vote
                                    Sign in
                                    Check!
                                    (thinking…)
                                    Reset
                                    or sign in with
                                    • facebook
                                    • google
                                      Password icon
                                      I agree to the terms of service
                                      Signed in as (Sign out)

                                      We’ll send you updates on this idea

                                      0 comments  ·  Services  ·  Admin →

                                      Hello Gemma,

                                      Thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us. It is disapointing to hear that when you called our team you were not provided with the correct hours for the week.

                                      I have forwarded your feedback to the Stop 1 team for their consideration, so as to improve services in the future.

                                      Please feel free to contact our team on Facebook if you want anything clarified in the future, it will save the wait on the phone :)!

                                      Thanks again.

                                      The Stop 1 team.

                                    • 1 vote
                                      Sign in
                                      Check!
                                      (thinking…)
                                      Reset
                                      or sign in with
                                      • facebook
                                      • google
                                        Password icon
                                        I agree to the terms of service
                                        Signed in as (Sign out)

                                        We’ll send you updates on this idea

                                      • Stop 1 - out of date information and terribly organised

                                        I needed some information with regards to the process, timings and visa entitlements when I submit my PhD at the end of the year as I am an international student. After searching the Uni Melb website, it said that I could meet with a Visa Support Officer by booking an appointment with Stop 1. When I booked, I provided information on what sort of help I needed with the thought that that would ensure I met with the right visa support officer.

                                        When I arrived, the first thing the very lovely lady said to me was 'I may not be…

                                        1 vote
                                        Sign in
                                        Check!
                                        (thinking…)
                                        Reset
                                        or sign in with
                                        • facebook
                                        • google
                                          Password icon
                                          I agree to the terms of service
                                          Signed in as (Sign out)

                                          We’ll send you updates on this idea

                                          0 comments  ·  Services  ·  Admin →

                                          Hello Vhairi,

                                          Thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us about your experiences dealing with the staff at Stop 1.

                                          It is disappointing to read you have had such difficulties sourcing information on the specificities of your visa status, especially with the end of your candidature nearing.
                                          Assuming that you are a recipient of the Postgraduate research sector visa (subclass 574), your visa lasts until the expiry date you were given when your visa was granted.

                                          The subclass visa 574 is no longer issued. Instead it has been replaced by the Student Visa (subclass 500). If you wish to extend you stay past the due date of your current visa, you will need to apply for a Student Visa (subclass 500). The majority of the features of the Student Visa (subclass 500) are the same. (https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/574-#tab-content-0)

                                          Importantly for your specific situation, and this is…

                                        • Employees need more training

                                          I always become regret why I went to stop 1. They always confuse me about questions that I asked them.
                                          I have a question about my course planning and like as all students I went there, the girl in there was quite aggressive and she hadn't have sufficient information about my issue,but she talked in the way that she knows everything. It was not my first time that I faced to this issue.
                                          I told her that I know the process and I already asked this question 3 more times from your colleagues here but my question today is regarding…

                                          4 votes
                                          Sign in
                                          Check!
                                          (thinking…)
                                          Reset
                                          or sign in with
                                          • facebook
                                          • google
                                            Password icon
                                            I agree to the terms of service
                                            Signed in as (Sign out)

                                            We’ll send you updates on this idea

                                            Hello Reza,

                                            Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback, and I am sorry to hear of the difficulties you have encountered.

                                            We are always looking to enhance the service we provide our students and the feedback we received from you will greatly assist our training in the future.

                                            I have past on your comments to higher management for review.

                                            Thank you again for leaving us with your feedback,

                                            The Stop 1 team.

                                          ← Previous 1 3 4 5 10 11
                                          • Don't see your idea?

                                          Feedback and Knowledge Base